The Skilled Regional Nominated Visa to Australia is for those applicants who may require additional points from Regional State Sponsorship or Family Sponsorship.

The skilled sponsored visa entitles all applicants to:

  • Live and work in Australia as temporary residents
  • Take advantage of significant tax benefits such as the Living Away From Home Allowance
  • Study in Australia
  • Become a Permanent Resident of Australia within 2 years

However unlike the other Visas within this family, it does not grant instant Permanent Residence in Australia. Applicants are required to live and work within the Regional State that sponsored their application or within the same state in which their sponsoring family member resides for a minimum of 2 years and work for at least 12 months prior to applying for Permanent Residence.

A Skilled Regional Nominated Visa is valid for up to three years and provides a pathway to permanent residence.

The following areas are classified as Regional Australia and therefore are the only regions in which applicants are eligible to live and work in Australia under this subclass:
State or Territory Designated Areas

Victoria: Anywhere
South Australia: Anywhere
Northern Territory: Anywhere
Tasmania: Anywhere
Aust Capital Territory: Anywhere
Queensland Postcode: areas 4019-4028, 4037-4050, 4079-4100, 4114, 4118, 4124-4150, 4158-4168, 4180-4899 (anywhere except Brisbane metropolitan area)
Western Australia: Anywhere
New South Wales Post: areas 2311-2312, 2328-2333, 2336-2490, 2535-2551, 2575-2739, 2787-2898 (anywhere except Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong)

In order to apply for a Skilled Regional Sponsored Visa to Australia, an applicant must satisfy the following minimum requirements:

  • Must be under 50 years of age at the time of application
  • Must nominate an occupation from the most recent Skilled Occupations List
  • Must have a valid Skills Assessment from a designated Skills Assessment Board
  • Must have at least competent English Language skills
  • Must be nominated by a State/Territory Government OR by an eligible relative

In addition to meeting the basic eligibility requirements you need to achieve a pass mark score against the skilled migration points test. The points test pass mark for the skilled visa to Australia is currently 60 points. The categories to acquire points are broken down to assess age, English language, Qualifications, Partners Skills and various other categories.

Australia operate a Skill Selection visa process where an applicant expresses an interest in applying for a visa under this subclass.  Thereafter the Government will review your application and may invite you to apply for residence.  V&P will ensure that your application has the best chance of selection and so if you satisfy the above requirements and require us to calculate your potential points score, contact us today!